(Grace Kennedy/The Observer)

(Grace Kennedy/The Observer)

Agassiz Fire Department honours local members

The awards ceremony saw established and rookie firefighters celebrated for their contributions

Agassiz firefighters were celebrated for their commitment to the community at the department’s annual awards banquet this year.

Mayor Sylvia Pranger, along with Kent councillors and other first responders in the area, were on hand to recognize local firefighters at the Agassiz Friendship House on Saturday, Nov. 23.

Two of the awards presented were given out to new members, both of whom had five years with the Agassiz Fire Department.

Firefighter and charitable society secretary Colin Kerkhoff was recognized for having the most volunteer hours for 2019. Throughout the year he had spent hours volunteering at community events like Canada Day, the Fall Fair and the department’s fire prevention week open house, as well as crafting a podium with the department logo and a bell mount stand for ceremonies.

Lt. Christopher Renaud took home the James G. Morrow memorial award for Rookie of the Year, which honours members with five years of service or less in the department. According to a release from the department, Renaud was recently promoted to lieutenant and “continues to excel as a leader in the training and operations of the AFD.”

SEE ALSO: First responder and tow truck celebrity remembered in Princeton

Renaud and Kerkhoff both received their five-year service pins at the banquet, along with Lt. Art Neels.

Taking home the Carl Tyfting Memorial Shield was Cpt. Cory Schaeffer. Schaeffer was voted “firefighter of the year” by company officers for his willingness to share his knowledge of firefighting, technical rescues and wildland firefighting tactics.

According to the AFD release, Schaeffer stood out above the rest and exemplified the fire department’s goals, as well as “demonstrated excellent commitment and leadership.”

In addition to the Agassiz Fire Department’s internal awards, two firefighters also received commendation from the provincial government for their long-standing service.

Chris Wilson was awarded the British Columbia Long Service Medal for 25 years of service as a firefighter. Wilson began serving with the Surrey Fire Rescue, and completed two years there before moving to the Agassiz Fire Department, where he is both a firefighter and treasurer for the Agassiz Firefighters’ Charitable Society.

Wilson’s wife Deanna Wilson was also recognized, receiving the provincial dogwood pin from the B.C. Office of the Fire Commissioner. The pin is intended to recognize the sacrifice and contribution of spouses who have partners with 25 years of service or more as a firefighter.

Finally, department chief Gerald Basten was honoured for his 35 years of service to the Agassiz Fire Department.

Basten has spent all 35 of his firefighting years with the Agassiz department, beginning by answering calls when he was a teenager in high school. Now chief of the department, Basten is the second-longest serving active member of the AFD — beaten only by Alan Pryor with 49 years of service.


Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter

Get local stories you won't find anywhere else right to your inbox.
Sign up here

Just Posted

The Abbotsford Police Department is investigating a shooting on Adair Avenue on Saturday night. (Photo by Dale Klippenstein)
Drive-by shooting in Abbotsford targeted home with young children, police say

Investigators believe home was mistakenly targeted by assailants

Morning mist clears over the Hope Slough at Camp River Road on Sunday, Nov. 29, 2020. (Jessica Peters/ Chilliwack Progress)
WEATHER: Sunny skies in the forecast for Chilliwack and Abbotsford

Rain and wind expected Sunday night through Monday morning, then clear skies

Email news@ahobserver.com
LETTER: A thank you from the local Legion

Royal Canadian Legion, Branch 32 thanks the community

LEFT: Krista Macinnis, with a red handprint across her face that symbolizes the silencing of First Nations people, displays the homework assignment that her Grade 6 daughter received on Tuesday. (Submitted photo)
RIGHT: Abbotsford School District Kevin Godden says the district takes responsibility for the harm the assignment caused.
Abbotsford school district must make amends for harmful residential school assignment: superintendent

‘The first step is to unreservedly apologize for the harm … caused to our community’: Kevin Godden

File photo
Outdoor recreation generates close to $1 billion annually in Fraser Valley: report

Camping, hiking and sportfishing generate the most spending, report finds

(Dave Landine/Facebook)
VIDEO: Dashcam captures head-on crash between snowplow and truck on northern B.C. highway

Driver posted to social media that he walked away largely unscathed

Black Press Media and BraveFace have come together to support children facing life-threatening conditions. Net proceeds from these washable, reusable, three-layer masks go to Make-A-Wish Foundation BC & Yukon.
Put on a BraveFace: Help make children’s wishes come true

Black Press Media, BraveFace host mask fundraiser for Make-A-Wish Foundation

A pedestrian makes their way through the snow in downtown Ottawa on Wednesday, Nov. 25, 2020. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Sean Kilpatrick
Wild winter, drastic swings in store for Canada this year: Weather Network

In British Columbia and the Prairies, forecasters are calling for above-average snowfall levels

NDP Leader John Horgan, left, speaks as local candidate Ravi Kahlon listens during a campaign stop at Kahlon’s home in North Delta, B.C., on April 18, 2017. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Darryl Dyck
A B.C. Ambulance Service paramedic wearing a face mask to curb the spread of COVID-19 moves a stretcher outside an ambulance at Royal Columbia Hospital, in New Westminster, B.C., on Sunday, November 29, 2020. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Darryl Dyck
Top doctor urges Canadians to limit gatherings as ‘deeply concerning’ outbreaks continue

Canada’s active cases currently stand at 63,835, compared to 53,907 a week prior

Join Black Press Media and Do Some Good
Join Black Press Media and Do Some Good

Pay it Forward program supports local businesses in their community giving

Cannabis bought in British Columbia (Ashley Wadhwani/Black Press Media)
Is it time to start thinking about greener ways to package cannabis?

Packaging suppliers are still figuring eco-friendly and affordable packaging options that fit the mandates of Cannabis Regulations

A Canadian Pacific freight train travels around Morant’s Curve near Lake Louise, Alta., on Monday, Dec. 1, 2014. A study looking at 646 wildlife deaths along the railway tracks in Banff and Yoho national parks in Alberta and British Columbia has found that train speed is one of the biggest factors. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Frank Gunn
Study finds train speed a top factor in wildlife deaths in Banff, Yoho national parks

Research concludes effective mitigation could address train speed and ability of wildlife to see trains

A airport worker is pictured at Vancouver International Airport in Richmond, B.C. Wednesday, March 18, 2020. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Jonathan Hayward
Canada extends COVID restrictions for non-U.S. travellers until Jan. 21 amid second wave

This ban is separate from the one restricting non-essential U.S. travel

Most Read