(File Photo)

(File Photo)

MUNICIPAL ELECTION 2022: Nomination period closes, candidates declared

It’s official – The deadline for municipal election nominations has passed and candidates have been declared.

For the District of Kent, incumbent mayor Sylvia Pranger is unopposed as the only candidate for mayor. All incumbent councillors – Duane Post, Kerstin Schwichtenberg, Susan Spaeti and Stan Watchorn – are listed as running for another term. Verna Dandenault will oppose the incumbents and is the only candidate who does not yet have municipal office experience.

In Harrison Hot Springs, there are six candidates for four council seats and three people running for mayor.

Running for mayor are incumbent Coun. Samantha Piper, former mayor John Allen and 2014 candidate Ed Wood. For council, former councillor John Buckley, incumbent Mayor Leo Facio and incumbent Coun. Michie Vidal are running. So is past council member Allan Jackson and 2014 and 2018 candidate Leslie Ghezesan. Cathy Christiansen is a new name to the political scene in Harrison Hot Springs, and she will also be running for council.

Incumbent councillors Gerry Palmer and Ray Hooper did not file nomination papers before the deadline.

Nominations are also closing for the Agassiz-Harrison seats on the School District 78 board. Incumbent trustees Wendy Colman-Lawley and Marilyn Warren are running for re-election. Other candidates are Wendy Clark and Andrea Hensen.

The official declaration of candidates takes place at 4 p.m. today, at which time no more nomination packages will be accepted.

This story is developing and will be updated when candidates are officially declared.

BC Election 2022