Election Day is upon us, and polls close at 8 p.m.

It’s Election Day in Agassiz-Harrison: Here’s everything you need to know

The next reign of local leaders are expected to be named Saturday night, as the Agassiz-Harrison 2022 municipal election gets underway.

District of Kent residents will choose between five candidates for district council, while Harrison will choose their mayor and council.All District Council incumbents are running for re-election plus newcomer Verna Dandenault. District Mayor Sylvia Pranger – for the second consecutive term – is unopposed and re-elected by acclamation.

Meanwhile, in Harrison Hot Springs, there could be some seat-shuffling among incumbents with Coun. Samantha Piper running for mayor and Mayor Leo Facio making a council bid; with Couns. Ray Hooper and Gerry Palmer not running and a total of three candidates for mayor, there’s room for new blood in the village’s municipal offices.

There are three seats up for grabs between five candidates for Agassiz-Harrison’s representatives on the Fraser-Cascade school board. Trustee Ron Johnstone is not seeking re-election while his fellow incumbents Marilyn Warren and Wendy Coleman-Lawley are.

Polls are open in Agassiz and Harrison Hot Springs from 8 a.m. until 8 p.m.

Where you can vote:

Agassiz Agricultural Hall

6800 Pioneer Avenue

Harrison Hot Springs Elementary School

501 Hot Springs Road

Who you can vote for:

District of Kent Council (four to be elected):

Verna Dandenault

Duane Post (incumbent)

Kerstin Schwichtenberg (incumbent)

Susan Spaeti (incumbent)

Stan S Watchorn (incumbent)


Fraser Valley Regional District, Electoral Area C (one to be elected):

Mike Armstrong

Wendy Bales (incumbent)

Mel Waardenburg


Fraser-Cascade School District 78, Agassiz-Harrison Trustees (three to be elected):

Wendy Clark

Wendy Coleman-Lawley (incumbent)

Andrea Hensen

Marilyn Warren (incumbent)


Harrison Hot Springs Mayor:

John Allen

Samantha Piper (incumbent, village council)

Ed Wood


Harrison Hot Springs Council:

John Buckley

Leo Facio (incumbent, Mayor)

Leslie Ghezesan

Allan Jackson

Michie Vidal

Relevant stories:

District of Kent all-candidates meeting

District of Kent Council Q&A

Fraser Valley Regional District, Electoral Area C Q&A

Harrison Hot Springs all-candidates meeting

Harrison Hot Springs Mayor and Council Q&A

School District 78 all-candidates meeting

Print versions of all articles are available in the Oct. 7 and Oct. 14 editions of The Observer.

For Elections FAQ page for questions like what kind of identification to bring, click here for the District of Kent and here for the Village of Harrison Hot Springs.

What happens once polls close?

After 8 p.m. local time, election officials will begin counting and tallying the ballots. Throughout the day, you can find us posting brief, live updates via our Facebook page (linked here). As the results come in, we will periodically update polling numbers on our website.

Check out our website and Facebook page for full coverage of the results once polls close.


Election 2022