Skip to content

Sworn in: Kent Council begins new term

What was old is new again as council starts another term

All members of the District of Kent Council were sworn in on Nov. 7, the inaugural meeting of the 2022-2026 term.

All previous members of council were re-elected following the Oct. 15 election. Pranger was elected by acclamation when no other candidates ran against her. Spaeti earned the most votes at 472, followed by Schwichtenberg with 469, Post with 419 and Watchorn with 413. Council hopeful and sole non-incumbent who ran in the district’s 2022 election Verna Dandedault earned 284 votes.

RELATED: Kent Council candidates field pressing questions in all-candidates meeting

RELATED: District of Kent Council candidates Q&A

The next District of Kent Council meeting takes place Monday, Nov. 14, at 7 p.m. at Municipal Hall (7170 Cheam Avenue). The public can attend in-person or online via Microsoft Teams. Register by visiting