Skip to content

Kent Mayor-elect Pranger wins second term by acclamation

District of Kent has a history of acclaimed mayors
District of Kent Mayor Sylvia Pranger, pictured here at the ribbon-cutting ceremony for the new floodgate in May, has won a second four-year term in office by standing unopposed. (File Photo)

For a second straight four-year term, District of Kent Mayor Sylvia Pranger has won by acclamation.

She is one of 37 mayors in the province to win this election cycle by standing unopposed.

Pranger called winning by acclamation “very humbling.”

“First of all, I want to thank the community for its support,” she told The Observer. “I will continue to work hard (with) council to bring services to our beautiful community. It has been a real pleasure working with council and staff for the last four years. Winning by acclamation is a great feeling and will encourage me to work harder for everyone in our community.”

RELATED: 37 B.C. mayors win by acclamation after standing unopposed

According to past election data from Civic Info B.C., the district has a history of mayors winning by acclamation. Lorne Fisher won by acclamation in 2008 with John Van Laerhoven standing unopposed in 2011. Van Laerhoven’s second term as mayor was contested when he defeated Ken Schwaerzle 821 votes to 559. The following term, Pranger won as mayor by acclamation.

With Files from The Canadian Press