Skip to content

MUNICIPAL ELECTION 2022: Today is deadline for nomination packages

Stay tuned to The Observer for a complete candidate list
(File Photo)

Today is the final day to file nomination packages to run for municipal office.

By the end of the day on Friday, Sept. 9, candidates will be declared in Harrison Hot Springs and the District of Kent as well as School District 78 and Fraser Valley Regional District (FVRD) Area C.

District of Kent

As of the end of the day Thursday, no nomination packages have been published and no candidates have reached out to The Observer.

Harrison Hot Springs

There are three candidates who have filed nomination packages for mayor:

– John Allen

– Samantha Piper (incumbent councillor)

– Ed Wood

Three candidates have filed for village council:

– John Buckley

– Leo Facio (incumbent mayor)

– Michie Vidal (incumbent councillor)

School District 78Agassiz-Harrison Trustees

As of Thursday afternoon, Incumbent trustee Wendy Colman-Lawley is the only candidate to submit a nomination package ahead of the Friday deadline. Colman-Lawley has been a school trustee since 2018.

Marilyn Warren and Ron Johnstone are also coming to the end of their term as board members this year, but it’s not yet clear if they have intentions of running again.

FVRD – Area C

There are three candidates for Area C:

– Mike Armstrong

– Wendy Bales

– Mel Waardenburg

Stay connected to The Observer for election updates.


Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.